Grace Notes — a thankfulness blog

Faith, Thankfulness

Faith and pain

Leave a comment

This week brings to me a great challenge.  When I lost my job in June, I filed for unemployment and expected no trouble with my claim.  Two months on – still no income of any sort.  Whether it be EDD or my former employer, I don’t know (though I suspect the latter), but my claim was denied.  I filed an appeal, and this Friday is my hearing.

Does it ever seem that pain in this world is unceasing?  That your troubled heart and mind will never find joy?  I do have faith that things will be found in my favor, that I will again have income whether it be unemployment or work.  But there have been times when I wondered if my troubles will ever cease, if I will ever have continual peace – if I will ever stop feeling pain.

In this life, who knows.  But God is faithful1, and in eternity I will feel no pain and not remember any pain I’ve experienced in this life.  I Corinthians 2 says we can’t imagine all the joy we will have, the things we will see and experience.  Isaiah 65:17 says:

For behold, I create new heavens and a new earth;

and the former shall not be remembered or come to mind.

Just a few of the things I am thankful for today:

  1. A next door neighbor’s home was broken into yesterday, and jewelry stolen. I am thankful this house is safe.
  2. God gives me His strength.
  3. It is a sunny morning.
  4. I can express love to others through cross stitch.
  5. I get to experience God by working in my garden today.
  6. A great volunteer opportunity – a nearby community garden
  7. As I was volunteering yesterday, I was able to help someone with a couple questions
  8. Color
  9. Dvd’s from the library
  10. Books
  11. Clara Bell, my housemate’s dog
  12. I’ve been able to save a lot on gas by driving slower
  13. God forgives, always
Clare didn't care to have a camera pointed at her

Clare didn’t care to have a camera pointed at her

Have a wonderful and blessed week!

  1. I Corinthians 1:9
  2. I Corinthians 2:9

Author: Gail Ballard

I'm a 63-year young Christian excited about sharing the word of God through this thankfulness blog. I love nature, gardening, photography, and creating through crafts and cross stitch.

Leave a comment